Goals – Who needs them?

Goals.  Who needs them?  You do!!!  They are your road map, your vision for the future.  They are the way you track your progress and identify the areas you want to grow.  Did you know that only about 3% of Americans have written goals?  And that those that do write down their goals are among the wealthiest in the nation. It’s true.  So what’s stopping you?

Each goal should be specific and have a deadline.  Let’s use one of the more popular goals – losing weight.  Now most people might write Lose Weight but that is not being specific.  You want to say how much you want to lose, what will you do to lose weight and when is the deadline.  So instead you might write I will lose 20 pounds by the end of June,  I will work out three times per week and I will reduce my soda and eating out.  Now we have a very specific goal that has a deadline.  Your odds for accomplishing this goal have now gone up dramatically.

Take out a piece of paper or download our template from the Cultivating Tools page for writing out your goals.  Write down whatever comes to mind. Don’t over think it.  We have given you several main categories but feel free change them to what works best for you.  Get at least 5 goals written down with a timeframe.  This can be anything from a month to year.  You can then break down each goal into smaller chunks.  Let’s go back to our weight lose example.  I might put down for 30 days: do work out video two times per week and eliminate soda from my diet.  Then for 60 days: add two days each week for a 30 minute walk outside and cook healthy food each day for dinner.  For 90 days might be do Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred video and drink a minimum of 50 oz of water each day.  Now you have a very specific plan for your goal.

If you don’t know where you are going, you might not get there.  Yogi Berra

I have been setting goals for most of my life.  In fact I can’t remember a time that I did not have at least a few goals written down.  The Trio has been meeting for years and it is such a part of my life that to me it as important as breathing.  Yes – that much!  Each year near the end of December I start to put together my goals for the coming year.  They tend to fall into the following categories:

  • Physical
  • Personal
  • Financial
  • Business
  • Relationships

Throughout the coming weeks I will be sharing with you my goals and my progress along with other tools to use to help you identify, write down and accomplish your goals.

Leave a Reply

