Seed Bars

title2

Over a year ago I was at my local farmers market and bought some bird seed bars from a bakery  there.  They were so good! After that I was hooked, but they were a little pricey to support my habit. So I pretty much became obsessed with making my own seed bars. My family and co-workers enjoyed trying all my concoctions until I perfected this recipe. I love the sweet/salty combination that goes on in the bars. I even add dried cranberries sometimes for a nice contrast.

My kids love granola bars, but buying organic is not very budget friendly. I have made my own granola bars for my kids, which saves a lot of money. But I like giving them these seed bars, they have more nutritional value that the traditional granola bar. And they are packed full of protein, which keeps you full for so much longer. My son will chose a seed bar over a granola bar every time. I usually have one for breakfast every morning, along with yogurt and fruit. They are also great for an afternoon snack or crumbled as a granola over your yogurt.

IMG_3402I did have some trouble finding some of the ingredients (and at an affordable price!). I buy most of the Ingredients from Vitacost, I have found them to be the most affordable, especially if you make them organic. You can use this link to get $10 off your first purchase at Vitacost!

                             Ingredients

•3 Tbls Honey

•6 Tbls Sugar

•12 Tbls Water

•1 tsp Vanilla

•1/4 C Rolled Oats

•1/4 C Chia Seeds

•1 C Sunflower Seeds

•3/4 C Sesame Seeds

•1/2 C Pumpkin Seeds

Directions

1. Mix together Rolled Oats, Chia Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Sesame Seeds, & Pumpkin Seeds

IMG_3234

2. Mix Honey, Sugar, & Water in a saucepan. Boil on Medium heat to Hard Ball stage on a candy thermometer. (Stir occasionally). Remove from heat and add vanilla.

IMG_3232

3. Stir into the seed mixture, mixing quickly.

4. Pour onto a cookie sheet and use plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray to even out the mixture.

IMG_3236

5. Cut into Bars, a single batch makes 18 bars.

IMG_3239

Enjoy!!

IMG_3396

You can click below for a printable recipe card!

Seed Bar recipe card

4 thoughts on “Seed Bars

  1. Pingback: Homemade Vanilla Yogurt | cultivatingtrio

  2. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Menu 4/21 | cultivatingtrio

  3. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 7/29 | cultivatingtrio

  4. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 8/5 | cultivatingtrio

Leave a Reply

