I Love Betty… Betty Crocker that is!

Chocolate Biscuits Pic

My first born woke me up at 6:00 am this morning to tell me to go back to sleep. She and her sister didn’t have to caddy because of the rain.rain With a smile on my face, I rolled over and snuggled in. The husband was sleeping peacefully. I closed my eyes and… started thinking… NOT sleeping… thinking… and thinking. So I got up.

I started planning blog ideas and following-up blogs I had written. The last couple of weeks have been crazy busy. I realized that we haven’t been “living like we are on vacation.” I decided to bake something for breakfast, like grandma would to for us if we were visiting. That’s where Betty Crocker comes in. I love this cookbook. It not only gives great recipies but also give “Learning with Betty” tips.

cookbook

I looked through Breakfasts & Brunch, nothing hit me. I looked through Breads and “Easy Cream Biscuits” caught my eye. Thesereplace the shortening or butter with whipping cream. A variation of it is  “Chocolate Chip Cream Biscuits.” When I saw EASY, I was entreged. When I saw CHOCOLATE, I was sold!

INGREDIENTS

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

   1/2 teaspoon salt

       1 tablespoon sugar

   1/4 cup mini chocolate chips (I only had regular chips so I chopped them.)

about 1 1/4 cups whipping cream

DIRECTIONS

Heat oven to 450 degrees.

dry mix

In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder, sugar and salt.

whipping cream

ball

Stir in just enough whipping cream so dough leaves side of bowl and form a ball.

mix chips in

Mix in chips.

coat with flour

Place dough on lightly floured surface and gently roll in flour to coat.

knead 10

Knead lightly 10 times, sprinkling with flour if dough is too sticky.

half inch thick

Roll until 1/2 inch thick.

cookie cutter

cut out

Cut flour with 2 to 2 1/4 inch biscuit cutter. (I totally don’t have one of those; I used a flower cookie cutter.)

baking sheet

Place biscuits on an ungreased cookie sheet, 1 inch apart.

cool rack

Bake 10 – 12 minutes. Immediately put them on a cooling rack. Serve warm.

They turned out awesome! Everyone enjoyed the baking surprise!

What can you do to “live like you are on vacation” this week? Just something small.

Until next time, be blessed.

Click on the recipe card for a printable recipe!

Picture5

Leave a Reply

