I was a tourist in my own town!

A couple weeks ago I spent most of a Saturday experiencing my town as a tourist.  I met two friends from work (Karyn is local and Nora lives about an hour away) and I showed them a few of my favorite downtown Kenosha spots.  And along the way, I saw my downtown that I know and love through the eyes of a first time visitor.  It was a fun and exciting way not only to share something that I love but to watch someone else fall in love with it as much as I do!

Downtown Kenosha

Downtown Kenosha

We started the morning at the Harbor Market.  During the winter it is held indoors in the Rhode Theater lobby and they average about 20 vendors each Saturday.  We nibbled on a few samples, purchased some baked goods (those chocolate croissants are heavenly!), some produce and a few craft items.  While we walked around Nora was admiring the beautiful, blue tile work on the walls and stunning lighting fixtures.  I’m at Market most weekends but have certainly taken the beauty of the theater for granted!  Thank you Nora for helping me stop and appreciate my surroundings :-).
Rock  River Soap Company

Rock River Soap Company

Next up was The Soap Box which is the home base for Rock River Soap Company and run by my dear friend Scott Holloway.  He makes the best, handcrafted soaps that you will ever experience!  The shop smells so wonderful with all the different essential oils that he uses and his kitchen is right there in store.  In fact, he will be offering some introductory soap making classes soon.  Both Nora and Karyn wanted a quick tutorial on what it takes to make his soap and Scott is always enthusiastic to share his love for soap making!
Some of Scott's awesome soaps

Some of Scott’s awesome soaps

With limited time and so many different shops to visit we needed to select one more shop to visit before lunch.  We decided on the Jockey Outlet store.  So many wonderful deals in the back clearance area!  All of us found plenty to purchase and Bonnie was very helpful and showed me a jacket to match the workout top I was purchasing.  Somehow I had missed it while shopping.  And they had a special of an additional 10% because of the Wisconsin Marathon that day – woo hoo!
Lunch – my favorite downtown restaurant is Char’s Cafe so we stopped there to fill our bellies and rest our feet for a little bit. Char’s has great breakfast and lunch specials with a friendly atmosphere and just a touch of “attitude” to make you feel at home!  Scott joined us for lunch and the four of us were able to chat and enjoy some great food.
Char's Cafe

Char’s Cafe

Our last stop was Tenuta’s Italian Grocery and Deli.  It is always great fun to wander the aisles looking for something new to try.  This trip I found jarred red bell peppers to try when I am in Door County.  I also picked up an assortment of goodies for my mom for her Mother’s Day gift.  (And she loved it!).   Karyn and Nora each found wonderful deli meats and cheeses.  There was a wine distributor there giving wine samples and then Tenuta’s always has a huge selection of buy one bottle of wine get one free.
Tenuta's Italian Grocery and Deli

Tenuta’s Italian Grocery and Deli

We all had such a wonderful time that we are planning another outing in August to take advantage of the Market being outdoors.  During the summer & early fall (mid May – Oct) Market has over 100 vendors.  If you are in the area or looking for a day trip please stop by and take advantage of wonderful, local produce, meats, flowers, baked goods, hand crafted items and artwork.
Kenosha Harbor Market

Kenosha Harbor Market

Has anyone taken a day or maybe a weekend to be a tourist in your own town or nearby city?  What fun things can you do where you live?  Any hidden gems to share with us?
Leave a Reply

