Homemade Taco Seasoning

Taco Seasoning

Have you ever read the ingredients on the taco seasoning you use?? I did for the first time recently and was quite surprised!!! I mean what is maltodextrin? And why would I want to serve my family MSG, or silicon dioxide?

So in keeping with one of my Focus Words “FRESH”, I researched how to make my own taco seasoning. I was surprised how easy it was, and I had all the ingredients already in my kitchen! I used a glass jar I bought at Hobby Lobby when they had all the glass on sale for 50% off. I tried a few recipes, changed some  things and this is my favorite. It’s spicy enough for my husband, but not too much heat for the kids and I. You can add the optional Red Pepper Flakes, I choose to add only a little and have my husband add more separate. You will find that 2 Tbls per pound of ground beef is the perfect amount.

Ingredients

1 C  Chili Powder
3 Tbls Garlic Powder
1 Tbls & 1 tsp Onion Powder
1 Tbls & 1 tsp Cayenne Pepper
1 Tbls & 1 tsp Paprika
2/3 C Cumin
1/2 C Salt
1/2 C Black Pepper
1 Tbls Red Pepper Flakes (optional)

Directions

1.  Mix all the spices together.

2.  Store in an air tight container.

IMG_3526

3.  Use 2 Tbls per 1 pound of beef.

IMG_4002

Click on the Recipe Card for a printable view. (Print in landscape)

Taco seasoning recipe

8 thoughts on “Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. Pingback: Taco Stuffed Shells | cultivatingtrio

  2. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 5/27 | cultivatingtrio

    • Thanks for the question Michelle! The taco seasoning is made up of ground spices, which usually last 2-3 years. Spices do not spoil, but they can lose their potency. So as long as you keep the mix in an air tight container, away from light and heat, it should stay fresh for 2 years. I’ve never had it last longer than 2 months though. So let your nose be your guide, if it doesn’t smell very potent, then it has probably lost its freshness and won’t flavor your meat as good as it use to.

  3. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 7/22 | cultivatingtrio

  4. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 7/29 | cultivatingtrio

  5. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 8/5 | cultivatingtrio

  6. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Menu 9/8 | cultivatingtrio

Leave a Reply

