Five Minute Friday: Present

adirondack chairs and water

It’s Friday and time to link up with the other ladies at Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog for Five Minute Friday.

The objective? Write unedited, unscripted, unfixed for five minutes on the prompt she gives. Then link up on her blog with the others who accepted the challenge.

This week’s topic: Present.

GO.

Oh, how I always want to be truly present. Drinking in the actually moment as it happens. Not worrying about tomorrow or how I am going to get my inbox cleared out or what will I make for dinner when I finally get home. It’s something that I struggle with and have a strong sense of awareness that even though I want and need to do it, I fail at it on a daily basis.

I have a dear friend who has taught me so much in this area. For this person the future is a very abstract and unclear “thing” that really doesn’t even exist. And the past is well, something to learn from and then move on. Quickly without looking back. So the only thing that truly matters is the here and right now. Now this way of thinking can also create some serious problems (schedules that are not kept or organized, no planning for the future, etc) but when we take the time to be in the moment then we can really savory it and appreciate it in all it’s messy glory.

When I am present in the moment I find that time moves much slower. When I stop the endless chatter in my head, the near constant planning for the next minute, hour or day, I can relax. I can enjoy the sunset out on my deck. I can fully participate in the conversation around the dining room table.  I start to listen more.   And hear more.   I am more alive.   And I am happy.

Stop.

Five Minute Friday

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Present

  1. Thank you so much for reminding us to be present everywhere we are. Present where we enjoy the things going on around us. Present to take the road…

  2. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Present | After the Ecstasy, the Laundry . . .

Leave a Reply

