Strawberry Shortcake

Strawberry shortcake

 One of the best things about summer is……STRAWBERRY PICKING! We have a great local strawberry farm (Thompson Strawberry Farm) where I have been picking strawberries since I was a little girl. It also was my first job! Strawberry season is by far one of my favorite times of the year. It brings back such fond memories of picking strawberries with my Aunt and Grandma. The amazing taste of fresh strawberries straight from the field, warmed by the sun…..it doesn’t get much better than that! Then comes the great memories of washing and cutting the berries with my mom.  She made the best strawberry jam and this amazing Strawberry Shortcake!! I have never had Strawberry Shortcake any better than this. I hope you enjoy it as much as do.IMG_4461

Before you start making the shortcake, rinse and cut your strawberries. I like to quarter the berries. Then I sprinkle the berries with a little granulated sugar to get the juices flowing. If you have Vanilla Sugar, definitely use that!

Okay here is how you make this yummy summer dessert:

Ingredients

2 C Flour
1/3 C Sugar
1 Tbls Baking Powder
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Nutmeg
1/2 C Butter (room temp)
1 Egg
1/3 C Milk

Directions

1.  Mix Flour, Sugar, Baking Powder, Baking Soda, Salt and Nutmeg all together in a mixing bowl.
2.  Cut in Butter with a pastry cutter (until butter is the size of peas).

IMG_4496
3.  Mix in 1 Egg, stir it in real good
4.  Then stir in 1/3 C Milk (a little more if needed). Next pat it down into an 8 inch round cake pan.

IMG_4497

5.  Bake at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes (until lightly browned). You can check the center with toothpick.

IMG_4500
6.  Now cut out a piece of shortcake, you deserve it!

IMG_4501

Top it off with strawberries (with lots of juice) and whipped cream. I like to eat my Strawberry Shortcake while it’s still warm. Trust me, it makes it even more awesome!

IMG_4510

Enjoy!!!!

Click on the recipe for a printable view of Strawberry Shortcake:

Strawberry shortcake recipe

 

One thought on “Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Shortcake | Simply Sophisticated

Leave a Reply

