5 Minute Friday: Broken

What is Five Minute Friday?

It is a 5-minute writing party. Click the link below to read some other great writing.  I just looked and there are over 240 other writers who have linked up with Lisa Jo Baker (we are partying on her FaceBook page this week since she is having “technical difficulties” on her website!)

Here are the rules:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.

bubble bursting

Broken…

Go:

Oh my goodness, this has been the theme for my life this week!  Broken air conditioning when the temperatures were in the low 90’s and when the repair guy was able to come to the house a few days later…..the unit was frozen and he couldn’t do anything!  So we let it “thaw” out (no really, it was a giant block of ice!) and he was able came back yesterday.  Ahhhh,,,,nice cold air coming out of the vents instead of the humid, tepid air from a few days ago. 

Next.  After the repair man left I started to make a quick lunch of quacamole and sandwiches for myself and a friend who is graciously staining my deck, I realized that the refrigerator is not cooling as it should be.  Hmmmm….Broken.  An unplanned trip to the appliance store to purchase a new one.  Wow, a terrific deal on a floor model that is perfect and can be delivered on Saturday.

And finally.  Later on while at the car dealership to have the oil changed on my car I was informed that I needed new brakes (both front and back with both roters and pads).  More Broken.  Many thank yous to the dealership for providing a rental “car” (see picture for my wheels for today!) and for being able to make the repairs right away.

photo

And these were only the “big” things from this week.  There were the little things as well but I am not dwelling in the broken or that a substantial amount of money needed to be spent to make it all unbroken.  Instead I am looking at the things that were accomplished this week.  I shall add these to my “to do” list and happily cross them off as soon as I write them (you do that too, right???).  Statisfaction of accomplishment.  Appreciation for all to have been handled so quickly and efficiently.  Thankfulness for prices that were much lower than I had anticipated.  And forever grateful that my savings account could take the hit!

Even when it seems that all is Broken have faith that it is only temperary and it will be again Unbroken.  And LisaJo – I hope your site is up and running soon!

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “5 Minute Friday: Broken

  1. Ok, here goes my first 5 Minute Friday, (I am not very good at not editing and just writing, but I will give it a shot)
    Broken: So many things can be broken. Life, objects, hearts, dreams, cars. Right now things that are broken in my life: my microwave (you don’t realize how dependent you are on it until you can’t use it), garbage disposal – not too big of a deal until your son pours a whole box of wheat thins in the sink because they were too “hot” and you turn the water on and turn on the disposal only to remember it’s broken. Oh well. My car: oh how I hate when my car is broken. I hope it works better soon, I am so afraid it won’t start one of these days and I will be stranded!
    Things NOT broken: my heart. I sit here watching my son sleep (on my floor, the only way he will sleep through the night, so his sleeping habits might be a little broken) and it warms my heart to watch my babies grow up, oh how I love them!
    Done! Not as bad as I thought it would be! Join us, leave a comment with your 5 minutes or link up to your blog post!
    Happy Friday!
    Katie

  2. Hi FMF neighbor!
    Broken seems to be a theme for a lot of people this week! Also, I love putting things on my to-do list, just so I can cross them off. At the end of a long and busy day, it’s a good feeling to be able to look back and actually feel like I accomplished something, even if it was as simple as waking up and putting clothes on.

    And to Katie, it sounds like your son is very precocious and precious. Sounds like he’s a toddler… Keep writing.

  3. Pingback: How to build a better weekend! | cultivatingtrio

Leave a Reply

