Homemade Strawberry Jam

strawberry jam

Homemade Strawberry Jam is one of my favorite childhood memories (in addition to picking the strawberries for the jam!). I grew up having Homemade Strawberry Jam in the fridge at all times. And the freezer was always stocked for the whole year. I remember moving out on my own and buying jelly for the first time. It probably seems silly that at the age 18, I was buying jelly for the first time. But it’s true, and it definitely was not as good as my mom’s! And yes, the next time I was at my parents, I did steal some jam out of the freezer to take home with me!  So now that I am a mom, I want my kids to grow up with the same traditions – picking strawberries in the summer and making the most delicious jam to eat all year round.

So I tried 4 different Strawberry Jam recipes and this is my favorite. And of course it’s my favorite because it’s the same recipe my mom used when I was a kid. I guess I should of just listened to my mom and aunt. Hey, even as an adult, sometimes I still have to learn the hard way. The recipe is easy, quick, nice consistency, and delicious!

Ingredients

  • 2 C Strawberries – crushed (should take about 2 pints of strawberries)
  • 4 C sugar
  • 1 box of Pectin (I used Sure Jell)
  • 3/4 C water

Directions

  1. Wash your strawberries, cut off stems, and cut berries in half or quartered. IMG_4461
  2. Crush your strawberries.  You can use a potato masher, food processor or immersion blender. But do NOT puree, you still want to have chunks of berries in your jam.IMG_4425
  3. Stir 2 cups crushed strawberries and 4 cups granulated sugar into a mixing bowl. (Do NOT use less sugar, the jam will not set up correctly) This mix needs to stand for about  minutes.
  4. While the berries and sugar are sitting, mix one box of Sure Jell Pectin and 3/4 cup of water in a saucepan. Bring the mix to a boil on high heat, and stir constantly.
  5. Stir the pectin mix into the berry mix. Keep stirring it until the sugar is dissolved, this should take about 3 minutes. IMG_4426
  6. Pour your jam into containers. I used some glass jars  (I put this in the fridge to use right away) and some plastic containers (these go in the freezer).  You have to leave the containers at room temperature for 24 hours so they will set. Once the jam is set, you can refrigerate them for 3 weeks or keep them in the freezer for a year.  IMG_4435IMG_4430

This recipe will make about 5 cups of Strawberry Jam.

I made quite a few batches of jam! And now we get to enjoy Homemade Strawberry Jam all year long! (And give some away to family and friends!)

It was a long day of making jam, but before I went to bed I dropped some ingredients into my bread maker. I set the timer, and woke up to hot, fresh bread. So we enjoyed homemade jam on top of fresh bread. It was a divine breakfast!

Best breakfast ever!

Best breakfast ever!

One thought on “Homemade Strawberry Jam

  1. Pingback: The Best, And Easiest, Strawberry Jam « Putney Farm

Leave a Reply

