Homemade Gogurts

Gogurt Collage

A few months ago I found some gogurts on clearance at my local grocery store. The boxes had cuts in them, that happened when the store worker was opening the big box of them. There was nothing wrong with the yogurt tubes themselves, and the expiration dates were good. So I decided to give them a try. My kids LOVED them! They thought it was awesome that they got to drink their yogurt. But I wasn’t in love with the ingredients in them. So the next week I tried the all “natural” gogurts, but the ingredient label wasn’t that much better. So that was the end of gogurts for my family….or so I thought.

A few months later I came across Zipzicles on Pinterest and was very excited someone invented these! They are zip top ice-pop bags so you can make your own popsicles and are portable. But I decided to make Homemade Gogurts with them first! So I search for them on Amazon (because I love Amazon!)  and found Ice Candy Bags. I decided to go with the ice candy bags because of price. But you will need a Food Saver to seal the ends. But either would work fine.

I used my Homemade Vanilla Yogurt Recipe to make the yogurt. I also flavored some with Homemade Strawberry Jam and some with banana and lemon pudding mix.

These instructions are for using the Ice Candy Bags:

IMG_4593

  • The Ice Candy Bags are 16 inches long, that is too long for my 2 & 4 year old. I chose to cut them in half. But you can decide if you want to keep them full length or half. If you cut them in half you will need to seal the open ends.  IMG_4603
  • Okay now comes the messy, I mean fun part. Put the funnel in the open end of the tube. Using a 1/4 C measuring cup, pour your yogurt into the funnel. IMG_4597
  • Pour more yogurt in slowly until it is about 2 inches from the top. You don’t want to overflow the yogurt (trust me, I did this a few times!). Then squeeze the end of the tube together, getting most of the air out. Make sure there is a little bit of yogurt in the end to help keep the end together when you put it in the Food Saver. IMG_4611
  • Now put the end carefully in to the food saver. You will have to be quick, the yogurt will start pouring out. I did not put ends into the vacuum part, just into the sealing part. Position it over the sealing strips with one hand and close, pressing down with the other hand.

IMG_4613IMG_4614

  • And you have very own homemade gogurts!

gogurt edgesI made a bunch and store them in a plastic container in my fridge. They are good for 2 weeks once you make the yogurt.

IMG_4626

Kids and adults enjoy them! Personally I love how I can use my own Homemade Yogurt, so that I know what we are putting into our body, and also have it portable. My kids love having these in their lunches. We also take them with us for picnics!

I hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

IMG_4627

7 thoughts on “Homemade Gogurts

  1. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 8/5 | cultivatingtrio

  2. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 8/19 | cultivatingtrio

  3. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 8/26 | cultivatingtrio

  4. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 9/2 | cultivatingtrio

  5. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 9/9 | cultivatingtrio

  6. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals | cultivatingtrio

  7. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Goals 9/23 | cultivatingtrio

Leave a Reply

