Sweet Sixteen Party part 2

Ok, I know that I said I’d post pictures this week of Payge’s party. But, this whole blogging and taking pictures thing isn’t coming as naturally as I thought it would. One lesson learned is that if I am throwing a party, there is no way I can take pictures of it… way to much going on. Next time, I will have someone else in charge of taking photos.

Secretly, not having the photo evidence my not be a bad thing. My girls went to a surprise Sweet Sixteen party a few weeks ago. (If you are interested in throwing a party country style, check this out!) Our party decorations were “sad” in comparison! Don’t get me wrong, we had a great time and fun was had by all. But I clearly did not put the effort in decorating that I should have. Or, I may not be as creative as I think I am. 😦

welcome sign

Got this cute chalkboard sign at Hobby Lobby for 90% off!! I also got a silver ware holder that matches the same design.

write address

Payge found this idea on Pintrest. I totally love the idea of having guests write their addresses on the “Thank You” envelopes. We have been doing it for years for baby and bridal showers. But a birthday party… genius! When I’m doing it, I usually write something on the back of the envelope to make the person writing the “thank you,” smile. (ie… Awesome Party, Let’s get together, xoxoxo)

salsa12

This is my favorite thing to bring and share at a party! It’s healthy and so yummy.

salsa1

I doubled the recipe. That way I have lots for the party and I have some for us after. I’ll give you the recipe regular:

5 Roma Tomatoes chopped small

salsa2

1 Red Onion chopped fine

salsa3

1 Mango chopped small

salsa4

salsa5

2-3 Jalapeno minced

salsa6

1 Bunch of Cilantro chopped

(I had my girls pull all the leaves off, then rinsed them. After that chopped what I needed. The rest I wrapped in a paper towel and put in a zip lock bag. I kept it in the refrigerator for a week after the party.)

salsa9

1 Juice of a Tangerine or Clementine

salsa8

1 Juice of a Lime

1/4 tsp salt

1Tbsp Olive Oil

1 tsp Cider Vinegar

salsa10

Mix well and enjoy! The longer it sits the better the flavor gets.

The party was a great success. The kids played basketball, volleyball, had a bon fire, roasted marshmallows, played just dance, ate, ate and ate.

What is your favorite party dish to bring? Please share them in the comments!

Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

