5 Minute Friday: Small

small surfer BIG wave

It’s Friday and time to link up with the other ladies at Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog for Five Minute Friday.

The objective? Write unedited, unscripted, unfixed for five minutes on the prompt she gives. Then link up on her blog with the others who accepted the challenge.

This week’s topic: Small

GO.

Small hands and feet of nieces and nephew who clap with delight and run as fast as they can.  Their small whispers of “I love you Auntie” and “Seriously” that make you just want to eat them up as fast as you can.

Those small moments of absolute and total clarity.  Maybe it’s in the still quiet of the middle of the night when you can finally hear yourself think or for me while sitting at the beach and contemplating my life’s journey.

The feeling of smallness as you stand before the ocean or the Grand Canyon or Empire State Building.  We are all a part of a much bigger plan, family and universe.

My energy dwindles in comparison to my never ending to do list for both work and home. Will that list ever feel “small” and conquerable??

The small picture of my grandmother that sits on my dresser in my bedroom that on some days stops me in my tracks and pulls me into a memory so deep and wide that the tears run down my face.

Grandma

Grandma

The hours of sleep I sometimes get as I try to accommodate all that I want to do and see and learn.   And I try to spend quality time with a dear friend whose schedule is so opposite of mine it is a challenge to see each other during daylight and I happily give up a few hours of sleep for this relationship.

I know my burdens are quite small in comparison to so many that I know and love – oh let me have a grateful heart always for the endless blessings in my life.

And for all the small changes I struggle to implement into my life each day that shows to the world that I value progress, however small, instead of perfection!

Stop.

Our most important requirement for participation: There’s really only one absolute, no ifs, ands or buts about it Five Minute Friday rule: you must visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community. – See more at: http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/#sthash.SN6NiVrB.dpuf

Five Minute Friday

2 thoughts on “5 Minute Friday: Small

Leave a Reply

