Zucchini and Rice

zucchini and rice

It is my favorite time of gardening season!! Zucchini time!!! I have more zucchini than I know what to do with!

This is one of my favorite side dishes for the summer. It goes great with chicken, steaks, fish, pork chops, or anything you put on the grill. It is quick, easy and so delicious!

Ingredients

  • 3 Zucchini
  • 1 Tbls olive oil
  • 2 Garlic cloves
  • 3 Tbls White wine
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Fresh Basil and Thyme (depending on taste)
  • 3 Tbls Butter
  • 3 C Cooked Rice (made with chicken broth instead of water)

Directions

Chop up 3 zucchinis. (these are from my garden, oh how I LOVE my garden)

IMG_4657

Throw them in to a sauté pan along with 1 Tbls of Olive oil and 1 Tbls White wine. Cook over medium heat.

While the zucchini starts to cook, get the rest ready. Cut up 2 gloves of garlic, basil and thyme.

Also get your rice cooking. You will want 3 cups cooked rice. I like to cook mine with chicken broth instead of water, for a nice pop of flavor.

IMG_4663

Once the zucchini is tender, add the rest of the white wine, garlic, basil and thyme. You can add as much or as little basil and thyme. I personally love basil, so I added more of that.

After the zucchini is fully cooked, add the rice and butter. Stir it all together. Add salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_4664

Doesn’t that look like a little bit of summer heaven?!

IMG_4676

This is by far one of my favorite summer side dishes! Yum!!

IMG_4678

Zucchini and rice goes really well with nicely grilled steak and salad (also from my garden!)

IMG_4693

And you what?! It is even part of the lick your plate clean club! My kids love Zucchini and Rice!!

IMG_4696

3 thoughts on “Zucchini and Rice

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Zucchini Boats | cultivatingtrio

  2. Pingback: Katie’s Weekly Menu 9/8 | cultivatingtrio

Leave a Reply

