Apple-Zucchini Pie

Zucchini Chips, Stuffed Zucchini, Zucchini Bread, etc… Can you tell its the end of summer and everyone is trying to figure out what to do with all those zucchini that they have in their gardens. That would not be me since we never got to plant a garden this year. But both of my sister-in-laws shared their bounty with us.

Yesterday, I was looking at the sad apples in my fridge. I decided to make an apple pie. After I cut the apples up, I realized that I didn’t have quite enough apples to make the pie. What to do…? Zucchini, same texture, it could work. It did work and tasted yummy.

applepie8  applepie1

6 cups of peeled and sliced apples

Applepie2

2 cups peeled and sliced zucchini

juice of 1 lemon

applepie3

1/2 cup of sugar

1/4 cup of flour

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Mix well.

applepie5

Transfer mixture to a pastry-lined pie plate. (I  totally used a refrigerated premade curst.)

applepie6

dot with 2 tablespoons of butter

applepie7

Place top crust over mixture, crimp edges and slit the top.

cover edges of pie with foil

Bake 375 degrees for 50 min. After 30 min remove the foil.

transfer to a wire rack

It tasted just like an apple pie. The only thing I would say is that the zucchini kept a little bit of a crunch even after being baked fully. Two of my children had a piece not knowing that zucchini was in it and never said a word. My husband tried a piece and he said it was very good. He usually is the one that is picky, nothing diet. nothing low fat. He even had a second piece!

How have you used the extra garden items? Don’t forget to click on the recipe below.

Be blessed!

applepie Recipe

3 thoughts on “Apple-Zucchini Pie

    • I did tell my children and they were a little shocked, but would still eat it. My children like zucchini so their reaction didn’t really surprise me. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Zucchini Boats | cultivatingtrio

Leave a Reply

