Savory Chicken and Dumplings

When I was a kid, we would go boating almost every weekend. My mom would slice the potatoes, put onion and butter between each slice, top with salt and pepper. Then they would be wrapped in foil and put on the grill. A light bulb went off when I was going to make Katie’s Crock Pot Chicken. I thought, “why don’t I do that instead of just foil balls?”

Last week, I tried it. I threw everything in the crockpot before we left for the day. When we got home, the house smelled amazing. I took the chicken out and sliced it. The chicken fell off the bones. I took out the potatoes and as my son would say, “Major Fail!” What happened was that chicken juice seeped in the foil. It didn’t taste too bad, but looked nasty. I wouldn’t have wanted to serve it to company. It didn’t taste like the yummy potatoes and onions that I was expecting. But, the chicken was delicious.

savory chicken and dumplings

dumplings3

After dinner, I put the bones and leftover chicken in a gallon bag and threw it in the freezer. Yesterday, when I knew I was going to be able to be home all day, I decided to pull the chicken out of the freezer.  I dumped the whole thing in the in a soup pot and added water until it was 3/4 full. I brought it to a rolling boil and then turned it down to simmer. I covered it and simmered it for about 2 hrs.

dumplings2

Then, I turned off the stove to let it cool down. I spooned out everything onto a platter.

dumplings 1

I chopped 5 stalks of celery, 1 med onion, and 1 cup of carrots. (Mine had a little less than a cup of carrots since my children eat what ever is in the refrig without asking if I need it for a recipe. 😦 Can I hear an “AMEN!?!”)

dumpling4    dumplings5

I brought the broth to a simmer again and added the chopped veggies , 1 Tbsp of salt and 1 tsp of pepper. While that was cooking, I chooped the meat. I got about 4 cups. Then I combined it all.

Next, I combined dry ingredients for the dumplings: 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1Tbsp baking powder,1/2 tsp dry rubbed sage, 1/2 tsp white pepper and 1 tsp salt.

dumplings6

Then in a separate bowl, I whisked together 2 large eggs and 2 Tbsp shortening. There were still small clumps of shorting but it was mostly mixed. Then I added 2/3 cup whole milk.

dumplings7   dumplings8   dumplings9

With a fork, I mixed the liquid ingedients intop the dry 1/2 cup at  a time. when it was mixed it was moist and sticky. I then wrapped it in plastic wrap for 30 min.

dumplings11   dumplings13

When the 30 min was over, I unwrapped the dough and sprinkled flour on the top. I then cut the dough into about 64 squares. The temputure on the stove was turned up to start a rolling boil again. One at a time, I dropped the dumplings in the  broth, making sure that they didn’t touch. Then I turned the temperature down to a simmer and put the lid on. I let it cook for 12-15 minutes.

Savory Chicken and Dumpling Recipe

This is one of my favorite fall meals to make. The kids love! What’s one of your favorite fall meals? And don’t forget to click on the recipe above to print it out!

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

