Five Minute Friday: True

It’s Friday which means it’s time for the Five Minute Friday party hosted by LisaJo Baker.  It’s time to dig deep and write from our heart and soul for five minutes.  No editing, just heartfelt words poured out onto the page.  Pull up a chair and beverage of your choice and join us.

we are all making it up as we go along

Today’s prompt: True

GO

What is true?  So often we spend so much time trying to create these false pretenses about ourselves and our lives that we leave ourselves exhausted and unable to recognize what that truth actually is.  I write to recognize what is true about myself and my life.  It is my self journey to discovery.

So what is true?  I am insecure.  And I am entirely overconfident.  I am exhausted.  And yet I have unending  ideas and lists of things I want to see and do and accomplish.  I am independent.  And I want to be part of something bigger than just me.  I am 43 years.  And I still feel like I am 23.

The older I get the more I realize that I am not the only one who feels this way.  As human beings we are a study in contradiction.  We so often say and want one thing but then go and actually do the opposite.  And then we wonder why things have gone wrong or that we are unhappy.

So what to do?  I find that I must acknowledge what is true about whatever the current situation is and then I can move forward to the new, better, more true version of who and what I am.  We have a saying in my office, “All progress and growth begins with the truth”.

So here is a toast to all of us as we navigate our lives, constantly steering ourselves towards what is true.

STOP

It’s easy to join in, just:

  1. Check what the prompt is on LisaJo’s Blog.
  2. Write a post in only five minutes on that topic on your blog.
  3. {And if you don’t have a blog, no worries! Just leave your writing as a comment on my post}
  4. Link over at her blog and invite friends to join in.
  5. Select the permalink to your post {so not your blog url http://www.lisajobaker.com but your post url http://www.lisajobaker.com/2012/07/five-minute-friday-2/ }
  6. Using the blue linky tool at the bottom of LisaJo’s Five Minute Friday post enter your link.
  7. It will also walk you through selecting which photo you want to show up in the linky.
  8. Your post will show up in our Five Minute Friday linky.
  9. Be sure and encourage the person who linked up before you!

Our most important requirement for participation: There’s really only one absolute, no ifs, ands or buts about it Five Minute Friday rule: you must visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.
Five Minute Friday

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: True

  1. I love this “All progress and growth begins with the truth”. It is so TRUE! Until we are able to get real and face the truth in our lives, we’ll never be in a position to change anything. Here’s to the truth and change!

    Mindy

Leave a Reply

