Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

chicken soup w

As the weather starts to turn cooler, I start to make soup.  And I make soup every week! I eat it along with a salad every day for lunch. And no, I don’t ever get sick of eating soup every day.  I make lots of different kinds of soup, but this will always be one of my favorites. There is just something about having a warm bowl of soup that makes your meal feel so fantastic.

 There is nothing better than a bowl of Chicken Noodle Soup when you are feeling a little under the weather. And this recipe is quick and easy to make whenever anyone in the family gets sick.  My secret to making this soup extra easy: Leftover chicken from my Crockpot Chicken! Whenever I make my whole chicken in the crockpot (which is the easiest and most amazing way to cook a whole chicken), I always freeze a few cups of chicken to use at a later meal.

Ingredients

  • 2 C WaterIMG_4582
  • 8 C Chicken Broth
  • 1 C diced Celery
  • 12oz diced Carrots
  • 1 C diced Cauliflower
  • 2 C Chicken (cooked, chopped, I used leftover chicken from my Crockpot Chicken)
  • 1/2 C Dry Pasta, I like to use Pastina (small spheres)
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Pepper
  • Fresh Parsley

Directions

  1. Bring 2 C Water and 8 C Chicken Broth to a simmer.
  2. Add 1 C diced Celery and 12oz diced Carrots. Let the celery and carrots simmer for about 5 minutes.
  3. Add  1 C Cauliflower,  2 C Chicken, and 1/2 C Pastina pasta.
  4. Add 1 tsp Garlic Powder and 1/4 Ground Pepper, you can add more based on taste.
  5. Let all the vegies, pasta, and seasonings simmer until desired tenderness. Sprinkle fresh Parsley on every bowl.
  6. Serve it for lunch or dinner with a salad or sandwich. It is sure to please everyone!

IMG_4577

SOUPS ON!!

IMG_4583

I hope that you enjoy Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup as much as my family and I do!!!

Do you have a favorite noodle that you like to put into your soup? I love pastini noodles, but sometimes I add barley or rice instead. Try one of them some time too.

Leave a Reply

