Five Minute Friday: Write

Yes!  I have made it to Friday which means it is time to sit back and do some fun, no editing, just write from your heart and soul writing.  I’m joining the Five Minute Friday party with LisaJo Baker and her merry group of writers.  Each week on Friday she gives us a prompt to write on and over 300 people join in the fun.

Writers_Write_Square

Today’s prompt: WRITE

GO

Because the words are always swimming in my head and they must be allowed out to be given their own life.  But sometimes the writing can only be done in my head and heart as I hurry through my crazy day and the only quiet time is my drive home in the car.   So I “write” in my head I as cruise down the highway while the radio blares some fun 80’s tunes.

At other times those same words must be committed to paper or they will burn a hole in me making me stop whatever I am doing; they make me look for paper/pen or laptop and purge those words out into a story, poem or post.  They must be born into this world and given life.

Words have always danced around in my head and heart – even as a very young child.  I have not always had the ability to let them out though.  The writing muse would at times force me to sit and capture the words but I was terribly inconsistent at it.  And writing in long hand did not allow me the creativity I longed for and I would need to get it all out before the muse vanished into thin air.  Now with a laptop and fast fingers I am able to let the “tool” of writing fall away and the words are able to pour out of me.  If my muse is smiling :-).

As I have gotten older writing has become my therapy.  It is my way to dive deep into myself, my reactions to life and it is how I gain clarity of life’s more puzzling moments. To write at times can be lonely and extremely difficult but the rewards certainly outweigh the hardships.  For within those moments of writing I am in “flow”.  Time and space simply cease to exist and all that is left is me and the words. I gain clarity.  I gain experience.  I gain peace.

For me writing is becoming an essential part of who I am.

STOP. 

I-Love-to-Write-writing-30896527-2560-1707

It’s easy to join in, just:

  1. Check what the prompt is on LisaJo’s Blog.
  2. Write a post in only five minutes on that topic on your blog.
  3. {And if you don’t have a blog, no worries! Just leave your writing as a comment on my post}
  4. Link over at her blog and invite friends to join in.
  5. Select the permalink to your post {so not your blog url http://www.lisajobaker.com but your post url http://www.lisajobaker.com/2012/07/five-minute-friday-2/ }
  6. Using the blue linky tool at the bottom of LisaJo’s Five Minute Friday post enter your link.
  7. It will also walk you through selecting which photo you want to show up in the linky.
  8. Your post will show up in our Five Minute Friday linky.
  9. Be sure and encourage the person who linked up before you!

Our most important requirement for participation: There’s really only one absolute, no ifs, ands or buts about it Five Minute Friday rule: you must visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.
Five Minute Friday

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Write

  1. I totally get that! Especially those moments where you just have to get it out:) I think my husband is beginning to recognize those moments where I am writing in my head and he leaves me alone til its out:) So happy to read your post today from FMF! Wonderful to meet you and God bless!

Leave a Reply

