Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

It’s Friday, we have survived the week.  Bring on the weekend for some relaxation time.  For me I get to have some Auntie time with my nieces who are almost two.   And then I shall do some “ordinary” household chores and prepping for the following week.  But I am getting ahead of myself….

It’s time to join the writing party with LisaJo Baker and her amazing group of writers.  Each week on Friday she gives us a word to write on.  We write for five minutes, no editing and from the heart.  Just let the fingers fly across the keyboard and see what spills out.  Here we go!

Today’s prompt: Ordinary

GO

Ordinary?  I don’t believe in it……I don’t accept the concept.  No matter who, or what the subject is if you dig deep and look around you will find the extraordinary.

Every moment of every day has incredible energy and possibility.  A simple play date with my nieces becomes a lasting memory for me (not yet for them as they are not quite two – but soon it will for them as well).  Sitting on the couch watching a movie with the one who loves you may seem like an ordinary Wednesday night.  You may not have even talked but merely enjoyed each other’s silence as the movie played.  The phone call or text that came through at just the right time to make you smile.  These things are all ordinary but yet are extraordinary in their exquisiteness and beauty and simpleness.   I choose to look around and always see the extraordinary.  Because it is there and because it makes my heart smile.

STOP

sometimesthemostordinarythings

It’s easy to join in, just:

  1. Check what the prompt is on LisaJo’s Blog.
  2. Write a post in only five minutes on that topic on your blog.
  3. {And if you don’t have a blog, no worries! Just leave your writing as a comment on my post}
  4. Link over at her blog and invite friends to join in.
  5. Select the permalink to your post {so not your blog url http://www.lisajobaker.com but your post url http://www.lisajobaker.com/2012/07/five-minute-friday-2/ }
  6. Using the blue linky tool at the bottom of LisaJo’s Five Minute Friday post enter your link.
  7. It will also walk you through selecting which photo you want to show up in the linky.
  8. Your post will show up in our Five Minute Friday linky.
  9. Be sure and encourage the person who linked up before you!

Our most important requirement for participation: There’s really only one absolute, no ifs, ands or buts about it Five Minute Friday rule: you must visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.
Five Minute Friday

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

  1. I really like how you started your post. I instantly wanted to keep reading to find out what you didn’t want to accept about it!! Good job 🙂

  2. I totally agree! My entry for FMF proves we’re on the same page. 🙂 Your blog looks so interesting. I’ll have to come back and explore more. Glad I found you through FMF.

  3. Pingback: Ordinary and The Survivor | thehopejourneythroughChrist

Leave a Reply

