Time to Tweak the Schedule

full calendar

Our volleyball season will be officially over tonight. We have our end of the season party with food, awards and even a parents vs. players volleyball games. (Pray that I survive without injury!) Thinking about the season ending is sad because we had so much fun on the other hand there is sense of relief knowing that we have a break in our schedule.

Being a planner and a goal setter I decided to glance at the calendar and realized that the rest is over in a week! Basketball begins next Friday. Then I look a little closer and it’s not even a week! Emily, my second oldest will be starting Drivers Ed on MONDAY. (MTW for 2 hours for 5 weeks) And so it begins.

Thus it’s TIME TO TWEAK THE SCHEDULE!

One thing that is really important to me is eating meals together as a family. But with a family of 6 our schedules are crazy. Some of the things that are fighting for our time in the evening are: 3 different basketball teams, Drivers Ed, 4 different Life Groups for church, Youth Group, to name a few. My head started to hurt when I tried to figure out how to get 1 or maybe 2 family meals together in the week.

Then, as I was reading a blog yesterday it hit me, a meal doesn’t have to be dinner. DAH!! We are all together in the same house from 9:00 pm to 7::30 am. BREAKFAST is a meal!

We are going to have breakfast together 3 days during the week before Greg goes to work. We will have a family dinner after church and before Life Groups on Sunday. In addition we will eat as a family during dinner any chance we get.

Now, I have to come up with a plan. The first thing I did was to ask each of the kids what was 2 of their favorite breakfasts, 1 of which needs to be healthy. The list consisted of:

  • German Pancake
  • smoothies
  • Biscuits and Gravy
  • oat meal
  • Eggs Benedict
  • Pancakes, Waffles
  • French Toast
  • fruit
  • Croissants
  • hard boiled eggs
  • Protein Shakes
  • omelets

Now I’m going to take those and see which ones that I can prepare ahead of time.

  • German Pancake
  • smoothies
  • Biscuits and Gravy
  • oatmeal
  • Eggs Benedict
  • Pancakes, Waffles
  • French Toast
  • fruit
  • Croissants
  • hard boiled eggs
  • Protein Shakes 
  • omelets
  • yogurt
  • muffins

I’m going to take one day next week and make some freezer meals for the month. On that day, I will prepare some of these.

  • I’m going to make some Homemade Yogurt and freeze some of it in a silicone muffin pan. I’ll pop them out and put together freezer bags with frozen fruit and yogurt pucks for smoothies.
  • We eat steal cut oats for our oatmeal. It takes longer make so I usually cook up a batch and then freeze them in individual serving sizes.
  • I will make 2 batches of pancakes and 2 batches of waffles. I’ll freeze them in freezer bags.
  • Hardboiled eggs… enough said
  • I’ll make the Homemade Gogurts.
  • I’ll make the muffins mixture but instead of baking it, I will freeze it like the yogurt in pucks to bake when we are going to eat them.

Then, I will put the meals on the calendar. We will only have a huge breakfast once a week. Hopefully as we get into a routine, I’ll have the kids take turns with helping me get breakfast ready.

What are some of your favorite breakfast recipes? Does anyone have another breakfast routine/tradition that you do as a family? Please share them in the comments below.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

