Freezer Meals, Cornbread & Muffin Mixes

freezer meals

I decided to prepare and freeze some meals to be ready to cook on days when we have little time in the evening because of basketball practices and games. Since Friday, I made 10 muffin mixes, 4 cornbread mixes, 40 burritos, 3 Tequila Lime Chicken meals,  3 Teriyaki Chicken meals, 2 batches of crockpot applesauce (3 pints in the freezer from what was left) and about 3 cups of taco seasoning mix.

I didn’t really want to spend a lot of money or time. I looked in my pantry to see what I had. I had a couple bags of flour, one white and one wheat. I also had a fair amount of cornmeal. At store I bought bulk chicken and hamburger on sale. Most everything else I got at Aldi.

mega cooking

I looked in my Mega Cooking cookbook and found a cornbread recipe. If you every wanted to cook and store large amounts of food this cookbook is for you. It teaches you how to do it all!

  • 1 cup Whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup Cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup Sugar
  • 4 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Taco seasonings (I add this)
  • 1/4 teaspoon Cayenne pepper (I added this)

With a funnel, I put all the dry ingredients in a quart jar. (Took 15 min) I wrote on the jars with a permanent marker all the liquid ingredients that need to be added the day of cooking and the cooking instructions:

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 3 tablespoons Oil
  • 1 14 ounce can Creamed corn

Bake at 425 deg  for 15 – 25 min.

Then I moved on the muffin mix. This took longer just because it was a larger amount and it was mixed together in a big bowl first. The recipe is:

  • 20 cups Whole wheat four
  • 2 1/2 cups Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Salt

I funneled 2 1/2 cups of the mix in the quart jars. (Took 45 min) I wrote the liquid ingredients on the jars:

  • 1 cup Milk
  • 1/3 cup Oil
  • 1 Egg

You can add various things to the wet batter before you bake them. Some ideas are:

  • 3/4 cup fresh cranberries
  • 1 cup mashed bananas, 1/2 cup chopped nuts, reduce milk to 3/4 cup
  • 1/2 cup diced apples
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese, 1/4 cup cooked crumbled bacon
  • 1.4 cup poppy seeds, sunflower seeds or a combination of edible seeds

Bake at 350 deg for 15 min. ***UPDATE*** I’ve baked two batches of these and they seem a little dry. I’m not sure if it is the whole wheat flour or what is causing it. I would suggest to add 2 eggs instead of just 1. Please comment below if you’ve tweaked the recipe so it isn’t so dry. 🙂 Thanks!

Taco seasoning didn’t take long at all either.

  • 3/4 cup Chili powder
  • 3/4 cup Paprika
  • 1/2 cup Cumin
  • 3 tablespoons Salt
  • 1/2 cup Onion powder
  • 1/2 cup Garlic powder

Mix well and store in an air tight container.

fixfreezefeast

The next few recipes I got from Fix, Freeze, Feast cookbook. I would highly recommend this one to be on your shelf!

Tequila-Lime Chicken is very yummy. We grill it an serve it with rice. Here’s the recipe:

  • 6 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 3/4 cup Soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup bottled margarita mix
  • 3 tablespoons tequila
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon dry mustard
  • 3 teaspoons minced garlic (1 per gallon freezer bag)
  • 3 gallon freezer bags

Mix first six ingredients (less chicken) and divide it evenly between the freezer bags. Add garlic to each bag. Add chicken and freeze. (This took about 15 min)

Teriyaki Chicken calls for chicken thighs but my family prefers breasts so I used bone-in breasts and took off the skin. Here’s the recipe:

  • 7 lbs chicken breasts bone-in
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3 teaspoons minced garlic (1 per gallon freezer bag)
  • 3 teaspoons minced ginger (1 per gallon freezer bag)
  • 3 gallon freezer bags

Mix first five ingredients (less chicken) and divide it evenly between the freezer bags. Add garlic and ginger to each bag. Add chicken and freeze. (This took about 30min)

Burritos is more time consuming. (This took about 1 hour – 1 hour 15 min, more time consuming because of wrapping each one.)

  • 6 lbs lean ground beef
  • 1 cup taco seasoning
  • 3 cups water
  • 40 ten-inch flour tortillas
  • 5 (15 oz) cans refried beans
  • 6 cups shredded cheese
  • 4 gallon freezer bags

Brown beef in a large stockpot over medium heat until no longer pink. Drain fat. Add taco seasoning and water. Simmer until liquid is almost gone, about 20 min. Then I had a little assembly line going. I put refried 1/8 cup beans on tortilla, 1/4 beef, and 2 Tablespoons cheese. Then I wrapped it burrito style. Some I wrapped in wax paper to be cooked in microwave and the others I put in foil to be baked in oven or toaster oven. Then I put them in the freezer bags and froze them.

I found a recipe for Crockpot Applesauce on Pintrest. I did substitute the water for apple cider.

  • apples pealed and sliced to fill the crockpot 3/4 full
  • 1 cup apple cider
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Cook in the crockpot for 8 hrs. Mash with a potato masher after 8 hours. These are really yummy. My husband tasted them and said, “This is like applesauce on CRACK.” I’m not really sure what that means but he seemed to enjoy them!!

***Update*** Check out the post on freezer cookies… YUMMY!

Hope this helped inspire you to get prepared for the up coming busy holiday season. Do you have any freezer meals that your family loves? Please share below!

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

