Chanyn’s Gratitude

give thanks

This whole month of November has made me think of what I am Grateful and Thankful for. I have some friends who have posted daily on Facebook what they are thankful for. It was a great reminder to me to slow down and appreciate the things I have even small things.

Family is a big thing I am grateful for.

  • My husband isn’t faultless by any means. But he is thoughtful (he will cook dinner or fold clothes if he knows I’m coaching late), hilarious (he makes me almost pee my pants daily), kind (he can see on my face what I’m feeling and will ask a question or give me space depending on “the look”), supportive (he has always supported decisions that I have made regarding homeschooling our children and any parenting decision I made during the day when he was at work), godly (he tries to set a good example for our kids spiritually) MINE (he has been a part of my life for 27 years and our relationship has molded me into the person I am today!)
  • My kids, who can drive me insane some days, are also the ones that in the midst of the chaos give comic relief or say “I Love You” at just the moment I need to hear it. I’m thankful that they are really good kids. Although they are typical kids who fight and argue with each other, at the end of the day they are best friends. That is a blessing!
  • Parents, sister and in-laws are all awesome. They are so gracious and understanding when we don’t call or get together often, knowing that our family is crazy busy at times. When we do get together it is non-stop fun. We play games and talk well past my bedtime! 🙂

I’m also grateful for the country I live in and all the men and women in the military keeping us safe. Our county is far from perfect. There are many choices that our government makes that I don’t agree with but I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else. One way we as a family are going to put our gratitude to action is to send cards to Holiday Mail for Heroes. We have never done this before but I think it will be our new Thanksgiving tradition!

Here are the details:

Every card received will be screened for hazardous materials and then reviewed by Red Cross volunteers working around the country.

Please observe the following guidelines to ensure a quick reviewing process:

  • Ensure that all cards are signed.
  • Use generic salutations such as “Dear Service Member.” Cards addressed to specific individuals can not be delivered through this program.
  • Only cards are being accepted. Do not send or include letters.
  • Do not include email or home addresses on the cards: the program is not meant to foster pen pal relationships.
  • Do not include inserts of any kind, including photos: these items will be removed during the reviewing process.
  • Please refrain from choosing cards with glitter or using loose glitter as it can aggravate health issues of ill and injured warriors.
  • If you are mailing a large quantity of cards, please bundle them and place them in large mailing envelopes or flat rate postal shipping boxes. Each card does not need its own envelope, as envelopes will be removed from all cards before distribution.

All holiday greetings should be addressed and sent to:

Holiday Mail for Heroes P.O. Box 5456 Capitol Heights, MD 20791-5456

The deadline for having cards to the P.O. Box is December 6th. Holiday cards received after this date cannot be guaranteed delivery.

Holiday Mail for Heros

We are just having thanksgiving as a family, so we will be taking off of school tomorrow and spending part of  our time making these cards. We will be praying over each letter before we send them! If you are getting together with lots of loved ones, this might be a fun activity to do.

What are you grateful for this year? Share some ideas how your family will be putting your gratitude to action this year,

I pray you have a Blessed Thanksgiving holiday!

Leave a Reply

