Day 03: Whole30 for the Piepers

Ok, the recipe for today will be Sweet Potato Chips. I made them for the kids today and they liked them. Greg and I loved them, too. The first batch I tossed with olive oil, salt, pepper and a  little garlic powder. The kids needed to leave in a hurry so I broiled the chips at the end. I don’t know if it was my mind playing tricks on me or what, but when I ate the chips that got slightly toasted, they tasted like sweet potatoes with toasted marshmallows on them. Although Greg laughed at me at first, he agreed once he tasted them. Our second batch, which was Greg and my favorite, we tossed with Chipotle infused olive oil, salt and cayenne pepper. Our only issue was that we couldn’t get them crispy enough.

 

whole30 day 2.6

Meal 1: Sautéed Brussel Sprouts, Onions and Peppers with Scrambled Eggs

whole30 day 3 lunch

Meal 2: Chicken Spaghetti Sauce and Steamed Cauliflower & Green Beans
Meal 3: Pork Chops and Sweet Potato Chips (They were good but a little soggy, so I changed the recipe to get them crispy!)
Snacks: Peppers, Hard Boiled Egg, nuts

Energy levels: same for me, some of the kids are feeling like they are out of energy all the time
Sleep: same, one of the children had a dream about eating chips and woke up feeling guilty
Gut issues: all kids have had stomach cramps
Hormonal issues: same
Focus: same other than obsessing about food that we can’t have

Daily Take-away:

  1. Prepping is the KEY, especially if you work outside of the home. I only work part-time; so the days I worked, having veggies cut and ready to go were awesome.
  2. Educate your kids, (and husband) to create a balanced meal instead of planning all the meals for them. My kids have started to cook chicken for lunch to put on salads or eat with steamed veggies. They also start to make their own choices for breakfast. (Start with protein, fill the rest of the plate with veggies, include healthy fat and add small amount of fruit if you would like.)
  3. Give yourself more time. Making breakfast with whole foods and packing lunches take extra time. (The time it took me, from getting up until I was stepping into the car to leave, used to take me 55 minutes, now takes 1 hour and 10 minutes.)

Recipe:

Sweet Potato chip recipe

Let us know if you have a any advice on how to make sweet potato chips, crispy! Also, any other ideas on spices to put on the sweet potato chips?

Be Blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

