Five Minute Friday: Tree

It’s time to join the writing party with LisaJo Baker and her amazing group of writers.  Each week on Friday she gives us a word to write on.  We write for five minutes, no editing and from the heart.  Just let the fingers fly across the keyboard and see what spills out.  Here we go!

Today’s prompt: Tree

GO

A5AA02

My daddy, he’s grounded like the oak tree
My momma, she is steady as the sun
Oh you know I love my folks
But I keep starin’ down the road
Just lookin’ for my one chance to run

~ Sara Evans “Born to Fly”

My Family is like

the big oak tree in the back yard.  With deep roots to support us in times of trouble and heartache.  Wide open branches that welcome us and take in others and support and love them.

The oak tree in my aunt’s yard that shades us each summer as we gather under it after the Progress Day Parade for our annual Picnic.  Where the kids laugh and shoot water guns at anyone who isn’t paying attention while the adults sit and talk.  You never know who may wander by and join us for minute, an hour or the whole afternoon.  The laughter, smiles and delight of all in that circle rise up and mingle amongst her lovely oak branches.

The genealogy family tree that is starting to become clear as my cousin does much research online and at the courthouses.  While I scan photos from the older relatives and we piece together the narrative of the Grulich Family History.

Trees are important.

Yes, I may be looking for my one chance to run but I always come back home to that family tree.

It’s easy to join in, just:

  1. Check what the prompt is on LisaJo’s Blog.
  2. Write a post in only five minutes on that topic on your blog.
  3. {And if you don’t have a blog, no worries! Just leave your writing as a comment on my post}
  4. Link over at her blog and invite friends to join in.
  5. Select the permalink to your post {so not your blog url http://www.lisajobaker.com but your post url http://www.lisajobaker.com/2012/07/five-minute-friday-2/ }
  6. Using the blue linky tool at the bottom of LisaJo’s Five Minute Friday post enter your link.
  7. It will also walk you through selecting which photo you want to show up in the linky.
  8. Your post will show up in LisaJo’s Five Minute Friday linky.
  9. Be sure and encourage the person who linked up before you!

Our most important requirement for participation: There’s really only one absolute, no ifs, ands or buts about it Five Minute Friday rule: you must visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community.
Five Minute Friday

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Tree

Leave a comment